The Love for Art

It has been a common habit for me to bring back a small souvenir wherever I traveled. A small souvenir means a piece of art collection mostly sculptures. I was truly attracted by all those stone carvings at Batu Bulan, Bali as well as those in the art village at Dan Khuen, Korat, Thailand.

I had a chance to work on a small piece of wood carving when I was 15. Carved on a piece of jelutong, a traditional Malay dance. Opportunity never come to many those days especially for sculpting. During those years, I managed to owned a piece of standing horse carved out of soft wood and beautifully dyed with black shoe-shine!

Today, I have all the reason to enjoy my mini collection of sculptures. In Bangkok, I was wondering about hunting for small art pieces when I came across an antique horse carving left on the floor by the owner. To the owner, it carries not much of value or any sentiments and today it sits in my home. It is one of my favourite piece (image attached). Also, at Mapusa, near Goa, an antique piece of wood carving of male figure is something I treasured.

My crave for going around looking for small art pieces eventually led me to own some of those truly beautifuly 600 year-old Ming jade. Oops! can’t reveal too much about this as I have already lost one piece.

Leave a comment